What I love about Dubai (this week)

View from the Waldorf Astoria DIFC

I’ve officially been here three weeks! I am really starting to find my footing… I am; however, still trying to get my body on a routine. I’m finding it terribly difficult to sleep through the night, waking up at 2a and/or 4a. Melatonin is not allowed here, so I’m searching for an alternative that’s non-habit forming. I’m hoping when my weighted blanket arrives with the rest of my items, it’ll do the trick. I haven’t the slightest idea how I’m staying awake throughout the day without coffee. I’ve just about given up on working out in the morning as I can’t get out of bed due to lack of sleep. This week, I tried using the gym at the office in the evenings to see if I have more success of rebuilding my routine. A work in progress.

Last week I couldn’t bring myself to do anything productive outside of work – workout, cook, study, read nor write. I would come home from work and turn on the tv. Ray says I sound depressed. Maybe, but I am trying to conserve my coins and really do think I’m just getting acclimated. I spent the first week running around trying to get familiar and I am still TIRED in general. But, normalcy is setting in. Everybody has days when they don’t feel like doing anything. It’s not necessarily depression but more of self care in the form of giving yourself a break. Friday, I stayed in bed ALL day. I can’t remember the last time I was able to do that and it felt great. I do need to allow myself downtime but, frankly, I really just needed to get out and explore life here.

After Work Drinks with Black Women’s Club DXB @ Neo’s (Address Hotel)

I did a search on Meetup and Facebook for networking groups and found the Black Women’s Club DXB! I’m already sooooo thankful for this group! I met up with them last Thursday evening at a lovely lounge called Neo’s which is located on the 63rd floor of The Address Hotel near Dubai Mall. The venue had amazing views of the Dubai skyline. We enjoyed free drinks (gasp!) and danced to ’80s and ’90s tunes without a care in the world. That first sip of wine was pure heaven y’all! LOL I had an absolute blast and felt right at home.

Tuesdays in Dubai are ‘officially’ Ladies Night (which basically means free drinks). This Tuesday, I met up with the group at Rixos Hotel in JBR for free drinks and dinner at their restaurant, STK. My favorite thing about Dubai this week is officially Ladies Night!! lol Dubai gets this right y’all! All the night spots pretty much offer ladies 3 free drinks throughout the week, need I say more? LOL

Rixos Hotel JBR

Saturday, the group met up for a pampering event at the newly opened Waldorf Astoria DIFC, where we enjoyed complimentary spa services with tasty treats and stayed to enjoy cocktails poolside. The views were absolutely breathtaking! There are several more events planned over the coming months and I’m looking forward to reconnecting with all of these successful black women and being amidst all of that Black Girl Magic! I’d be remiss if I didn’t mention that I couldn’t be more thankful for the referrals to hair and nail salons! One girl even offered to take me with her to the liquor store — won’t HE do it! LOL. Needless to say, connecting with this group is making my time here all the better. I no longer feel so isolated.

Poolside Cocktails at the Waldorf Astoria DIFC

I’d be lying if I said I haven’t experienced some loneliness. I do miss doing my normal things — sitting on the deck with hubs or watching trash tv, walking my dog, going to the hair/nail salon, meeting friends for brunch or drinks. And it’s a challenge doing anything without a car. While the hotel has a great shuttle and Uber/taxis are cheap, there is something to be said about convenience. And using paid transportation can add up quickly. But, I think I’ve come to the realization that I won’t get a local license to rent a car. It’s an expensive and cumbersome process and I’ll spend less on transportation using multiple options than I would if I rented a car long-term. Besides, driving here is not for the faint of heart and my heart probably can’t take it. I mean, you can apparently make a right turn from the inside lane of the traffic circle (this can’t be legal). My daily commute is worsening my arthritis as I’m constantly gripping the seat.

I’m beginning to hate texting. I know Ray has to be like, ‘if this girl texts me one mo’ time!’ What can I say? He’ll deal. But honestly, I want to hear his voice and see his face, look in his eyes. Unfortunately, video calling is completely unreliable so we haven’t done much of it. I just want to have an actual conversation. The time difference makes this extra difficult and it’s a sore spot for me. We will have to implement some type of schedule and prioritize calls.

This week will be busy, I’ll be starting language lessons and will sit through a culture orientation. I have plans to meet the ladies group for another event next weekend and one of my colleagues is coming in town. Not to mention, my hubby will be here in two short weeks. I still can’t believe I’ve already been here for three weeks.

Have you been to Dubai? What’s a ‘must-do’ experience? Please like, comment and share! Thanks for your continued support!

Published by hitchedandhappy1

Hitched & Happy was created to tell my story of self reflection and growth, to celebrate my happy marriage and encourage other women to find and celebrate their happiness in their marriages. Our vision is to provide honest, insightful content and create a community of highly motivated, marriage-minded women.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started